Multi-Cam Shooting for Short Films

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Daniel HartDaniel Hart
      Participant

I have been using a Vixia HF S10 for about 2 years now to shoot all of my films. In my house there is also Nikon D3100, and I recently bought a Panasonic HMC40. I also have final cut pro X.

Until now, we always shoot our films one shot at a time. Meaning, we’ll film a scene from this angle, (showing me) then we’ll film again from the other angle, (showing my sister.) Obviously, there’s nothing wrong with doing it this way, and it’s been serving us fine for several years.

However, because there is now 3 camcorders in my house that shoot really nice video. And with the great new multi-cam interface in final cut pro x, I’m wondering if I should start shooting multiple shots at the same time with different cameras.

The only reason I wouldn’t, is that I’m the only one involved who knows anything about the cameras, and I’m also usually in front of it. So, it’s hard enough to keep up with one camera at a time, I can only imagine keeping up with three. Meaning that, if something goes wrong with one of the shots, it’s less likely I’d know about it.

Also, I love the unique look that I can get with the D3100, but I’m not sure if the DSLR feel will look good if it’s being cut with the other cameras.

Just wanted to get a little advice on the situation. If there are any other problems or advantages you know if with shooting multi-cam, I’d love to hear about them.

To seem some examples of my films check out my Youtube, (/smackwhitz)