More newbie questions about pricing.

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi,

I have an idea about doing freelance video work, creating youtube ads for small businesses.

My main question is pricing, and what to charge.

My background: I have a diploma in a multimedia/communications program at a local college, supplemented by an internship at a local TV station. I live in a medium-sized Canadian city.

My gear: Nikon DSLR, Zoom H1 mic, LED video light, Mac + iMovie.

So again my concern is charging. My idea is in approaching small businesses so that might be a factor. I’m wondering about charging a fixed rate vs. a per-hour rate. And what would be an average rate per hour. I think my video skills are solid and my gear, although simple, can produce good results especially for youtube or a basic embedded video. But I’m not an industry vet with 20 years experience. At the same time I don’t want to make it too hard for myself with a low charge if I need to raise my rates later, or devalue my work with a low charge, or hurt the industry’s pay standards.

So I guess this raises a few questions: If I’m targeting businesses with low budgets, is it reasonable to offer a lower rate?

I’m thinking $25-30 an hour. But maybe it should be more.

Hello Alan, I’m developing a program to pursue this market and you can view the basis of my approach at my website at Webpage Billboards. It might give you some ideas of what to charge or where to take it. While my services are MORE in one way, and MORE BASIC in another, I think it is a viable solution especially for small business owners and operators, even people who are doing business out of their homes with hobby and skills related focus. It is one of several resource books I’m developing on a wide range of video production and marketing interests ranging from weddings (of course) to funerals, to montages and video/website services for small businesses.

Participant

Hi Alan