mail-in CD or DVD

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am just an aspiring video enthusiast, who reads all kinds of stuff online and just wondered what this meant:

I saw a film/video contest where the general entry rules were

3. How to Enter:

Step 1. Read ALL the Rules & Guidelines.
      Step 2. Fill out and submit the online form.
      Step 3. Follow the instructions to submit your work via URL, FTP, or mail-in CD or miniDV tape.

Please DO NOT send us DVDs. DVDs will NOT be accepted.

..just what makes a video on a disc a "mail-in CD" type, as opposed to being a DVD that you had made by shooting the footage, editing it with an NLE, and putting the final product on a blank DVD?

Thanks in advance. I’m a very novice novice, if you know what I mean. I just read when I can.. which isn’t as much as I’d like. I do want to tackle making good video eventually. I am actually only at the researching/planning stages for a business proposal to get the equipment to even get started learnign this stuff. I may ask "stupid" questions often.. sry.. But VideoMaker.com site/forums/magazine kicks ass for sure thanks for helping others (especially get started) with video! πŸ˜€

Inactive

Mikietroop,
      Very strange instructions. πŸ˜• A contest I’m about to enter has somewhat (but not identical) recommendations for submission.
      They don’t want regular MPEG2-style DVDs. The reason is that the movie is too highly compressed for them to make a good copy for theater projection. They say to send in a miniDV tape, or a data-DVD or data-CD with uncompressed AVI or QuickTime file.