Mac vs. PC

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

It’s an old debate, but one that I still feel stuck with.

I’m looking to buy a new desktop or laptop for video editing. I graduated a few years ago from a video production program. And I’ve been doing freelance camera work. I’m pretty familiar with Premire and I’ve used some Avid. So I’m not a newcomer to video production.

What I need now is a system where I can edit my own projects, video and animation, and burn them onto DVD. And I have a budget of about $1,500. I’ve seen plenty of PC based systems with video input cards. But should I avoid the PC in favor of a Mac? Or does it really matter that much today? It looks like I can get more “bang for the buck” with a PC. But I don’t want to regret the decision a year from now.

Any advice is appreciated.

Participant

I am in the market for a new computer.
      I want it for everyday use and a platform for begining video production.
      I own a small talent agency and need to respond to potential customers with promotional materials. Video and/or audio examples etc.
      I will be shooting short video,s of performers in action and duplicating promotional material.

I am leaning towards the new I mac G5 20′ with 1gig ram and an external HDD and an all in one printer.
      It seems to fit my app. and easy to use and learn and grow on.

I have never used any NLE software before but have experience in Audio and video.

I am tired of using windows PC,s seems I spend more time preparing them to do a job than actually doing the work.
      Any feedback,people using mac,s especially new Imac would be appreciated.
      JT

Participant

If your goal is to buy a new computer and use it just for creating “basic” digital media projects – Graphics, Video, DVD Authoring, etc. then the new Macs come with all the software you need and are indeed a reasonable solution.