Looking for Constructive Criticism (Documentary on Vets)

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Looking for Constructive Criticism (Documentary on Vets)

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Our Story: Rhode Island Combat Veterans (Part 1)

Our Story: Rhode Island Combat Veterans (Part 2)

Background:

I’ll be very brief. If you want the full background on the video, you can watch my eight minute discussion on the piece.

I’m an Iraqi Freedom Veteran (Marines) and wanted to give back to the local veteran community. When a final project came up at school, I knew that I wanted to do something about Rhode Island veterans. So I grabbed a couple local guys and shot this documentary.

My Criticism:

– The lighting for Tom Gingerella is really bad, and that’s something I can’t get over. It was a really heinous amateur mistake. I shouldn’t have given the green light to film but I felt rushed. I was under prepared and it shows.

– The tempo of the piece really slows down after the “tragedy” part. I wish I had used more of my own voice over to parralel the different stories, and had more B-Roll for John’s part.

– Overall I wish it was longer. John and Tom both told incredible stories, and its a shame I had to cram it all into 13 minutes.

I’m open for any and all constructive criticsm. This is the first piece I’m actually proud to call my own, and not something that was a gag or joke. The floor is open.

Benjamin…

I just watched the first almost 10 minute RI Part 1 video. The story? Strong, poignant, enlightening, provocative.

The lighting, not as radically bad as you had prepared me to believe. Primarily, I got so caught up in the story that I often failed to pay much attention to the technical aspects.

What I did become aware of, what most intruded into my attention to the telling of the story were actually things with potentiall simple solutions.