Lighting

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all. Ok another newbie question.

I got a lighting kit (want to use for video) it is the Smith Victor K84 http://www.smithvictor.com/products/detail.asp?prodid=482&id=14&pid=1&s1=Lighting+Kits+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++&s2=Photoflood+Kits+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++&nm=K84+KIT

Got it from B+H so I did not check the manufacturers site before I got it. As I am not a pro I am not sure if this is ideal although I feel it will work.

Does anyone have any suggestions as I have this now and I have to make it work.

Next question, I read that the bulbs are very sensitive. This kit has a case (no foam) that it all packs away in to move it should I remove the lights before transporting the kit? The bulbs came in very protective carboard sleeves. Just not sure if handling them would be wise.

Thanks

Jim

Participant

A couple things to keep in mind with any light set.

Those using halogen, and the like,lights burn very hot. Finger oils are very detrimental to these lights and they have a high chance to burn out and shatter. Suggestions have been to use a clean cloth or gloves to install/replace these lights.

another thing to keep in mind is that most anylight, that uses a filament,is very fragile when they are hot. The recomendation here is to turn them off and allow to cool down before you move them or pack them. This also reduces the chance of setting a hot light near something that could melt on them further ruining them.

Participant

Thanks for that info. Would anyone be willing to offer a suggestion on whether I should remove the bulbs from the fixtures when hauling the stuff around? I say yes I should but reading how fragile they are I hoped some experienced guys would offer a suggestions.

Thanks