legality of filming a high school musical

Viewing 26 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi all. I’m an avid reader of Video Maker, but this is my first visit to the forum itself. I am a novice videographer, trying to make the jump towards turning it into a side business. The part that concerns me the most is the legality of what I would be shooting. My wife is the director for our local high school’s musical. She asked me if I would like to cut my teeth on filming their musical this year. She thought that I could put together a nice video package and then offer it to the kids for a cheap $5 per dvd.

My question is that if the school bought the rights to the show, and I am deemed the “official” videographer for the show, would I be allowed to film it and sell the DVD’s? Personally, I could see doing this for free, just to get my feet wet, so to speak.

My wife performs in shows for a local theater company as well. I have videotaped several shows for them, but only authored a few DVD’s, more for archival purposes than anything else (I didn’t charge anything for these). The thing is, the company hired a “professional” for their one big summermusical and he charged like $20-25 per DVD for the cast and their families. The show was Roger and Hammerstein’s “Annie Get your Gun”. Did he technically also have to buy the rights to videotape this show or was that right transferred to the theater company when they bought the rights?

So I guess the bottom line of my question is… what gives this guy the right to film their show and sell the video whereas I perhaps would not be allowed?

Thanks for any help!

Joe

Inactive