LCD Monitors fit for editing

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello everybody, I’m hoping I can get some advice. I’m looking fora good LCD monitor to edit video with. I have looked at different websites including (obviously) Videomaker, PC world, PC mag, even Newegg for some “tried and true” LCD monitors to edit video with. I have read multiple articles on the important aspects, but yet, I am still leery about purchasing one. I’ve read reviews where some people say monitor “x” is great and then somebody else says that same monitor is worthless…I’ve read about problems in general with color recreation, tiling, ghosting, etc… I’m looking for something around 19″ and I am on a budget of up to about 250.00. Anybody have suggestions on particular brands or models??? Or does anybody have any advice about how they chose their monitor??? I’m just getting started so please be kind…Thanks for your time.

Participant

Are you looking for an LCD computer monitor or are you looking for an LCD monitor to use as an external monitor with your NLE?

Participant

Beinganerd I can hopefullyoffer yousome advice aboutcomputer monitors (which based on the size youare talking about,I assume you’ll beusingitas acomputer monitor).

Firstofall,letmesay that ALL (no exceptions)19″ monitorsare TNpanelsmeaningtheyare6-bit colorinsteadof 8-bit.Thismeans theycan’t do “true” color (they onlydisplay approx.262,000 colors and can “fake” approximately 16.2 million colors). An 8-bit monitor can to “true” 16.7 million colors.

That beingsaid, evenan 8-bit monitorisn’tthe end-all of monitors.It stillneedsto becolorcalibrated and even after this point it’s not a perfect solution (LCD’s don’t have the best contrast, and are controlled by your video card which does processing on the video so it’s not true to the video you actually have).