Laptop or dedicated card in a PC?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi all, I’ve had the misfortune of my PC breaking down. I’m a novice and had the opportunity of owning a Canopus Dvstorm2 card that I got 5 years ago. It worked well with my MiniDv camcorder. However finding a compatible latest motherboard & graphics card to work with it now is proving difficult. I would like to upgrade to the newer Intel dual core processors. I had a great Pentium 4 3ghz system that took me to a finished dvd that looked great on the telly although ‘patched’ on the LCD monitor. My primary question is with this Canopus card I could have done some realtime stuff as long as I used the native Canopus codec and the hardware helped it along. My mind is telling me things must have moved on since 5 years ago and laptops are more powerful now to handle editing, but i’m not to sure what the quality is like from these software products and their encoders. I trusted my setup. All I did was edit other peoples recordings as well as my own. Is a laptop any use to edit video. What problems would I encounter later on if I did purchase one?

Inactive

Im a user of laptops but I dont know anything about Canopus Dvstorm2.

I would feel very save in saying that laptops of today are far better than any desktop of years ago.

I have had great success with two Sony VAIOs one is two years old and one I got in January. VAIO #1 can handle SD video with no problem but HDV is hard.
      VAIO #2 can deal with HDV with no trouble at all. Both run XP Media Center.

I need laptops because of the need to move and edit on the spot and many times I will record right to my hard drive and skip the MiniDV tape..

Problem:
      Laptops are not cheap and you cannot really upgrade like you could with a desktop.

Desktop will give you far more everything for your money than any laptop. No question.

For me and what I do, laptops are the best thing but desktops do it faster and cheaper.