Keeping gear organized

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Im just getting started with serious video, though Ive made a couple of two-camera DVDs of local theater. Im associated with an Arts Center, and the center has a bunch of equipment available: a Canon GL2, a Canon z500, a Canon digital SLR, a bunch of batteries and chargers, a few medium-quality mikes, a Marantz PMD6600, a couple of tripods, a couple of silver/gold reflectors, a camera-mounted light (hmm), SD cards, Compact Flash cards, cables, adaptors, tapes, lenses, headphones, lights, and other odds and ends. My question is basic: how do you keep track of all this stuff when youre not using it, and (worse) when you go out to shoot? For a shoot, do you keep six or eight boxes containing related items, and an everything-else box? I hate to be digging around in boxes, wondering if what Im looking for is mis-boxed. Or do you rig some big trunk-like carrier so that you can see all the contents when you open it? Then when youre not shooting, do you construct a storage wall with a couple dozen compartments? Do you (for example) keep the cables together and the batteries and chargers together, or do you keep the batteries and chargers with their cameras? Do you jumble similar things in plastic bags? I do have all my batteries and chargers and cables labeled with p-touch labels so I at least know what they are.

Inactive

at home I use large mechanics styled tool boxes…solid, lockable, on wheels.
      when travelling I try to use back packs and or lockable tool boxes (Pelican cases would be nice…but expensive)….and have a sorting system so I can tell at a glance if anything is missing.

Inactive