JVC VS Canon

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am a television student, and looking to buy my first prosumer style camera with 3CCDs. Because I am a college kid I dont have much money, A buddy of mine is selling his Canon XL 1 for $1500. Which is a good deal, but its not HD, and I know theses days everything is going to be in HD. But I really want the new JVC HD Gy 250, those are about 10,000, very expensive. Do you think it would be better for me to save for the JVC, or just buy the Canon, or are there other quality HD cameras out there that are more in my price range?

Inactive

Luka,
    A lot of people are struggling with that question right now. Remember, if you’re going to do HD, you’ll need a powerful computer for the post production. Of course, you could get an HDV camcorder and just shoot SD for now, switching to HD in a year or 2.

Having been a Television and Film student (many years ago), I understand you want to get a good professional unit as soon as you can. I suspect the best course of action at this time would be to shop for a "make-do" HD camcorder. Then in a couple years get your "dream" camcorder, and use the other as a backup camcorder. After all, in a couple years there may be an even better "dream" camcorder. πŸ˜‰

If I were to jump into HD right now, and get a "make-do" HD camcorder, I’d be taking a hard look at the Sony HVR-AU1, or for a smaller budget, the Canon HV20. Or if you’re willing to gamble on a used camcorder, something like a Sony FX1 or JVC GY-HD100U.

Hope this helped, πŸ™‚
    Ken Hull