JVC EVERIO MG37U 30GB

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Inactive

I RECENTLY BOUGHT AN EVERIO MG37 30GB AND AN EVERIO SHARE STATION (DVD BURNER)
      SO FAR I HATE THIS PIECE OF %$#&^*.BEING NEW TO MORE EXPENSIVE CAMCORDERS I THOUGHT THIS ONE WOULD BE VERY EASY AND ALONG WITH THE EVERIO DVD BURNER(SHARE STATION) A GREAT COMBO.THE ONLY THING EASY IS NOT HAVING TO USE A TAPE OR DISC.THEY GAVE ME CYBERLINK SOFTWARE POWER PRODUCER,POWER DIRECTOR,POWER DVD,POWER 2GO AND SO FAR IVE MANAGED TO LOOSE ALOT OF VIDEO SCREWIN AROUND TRYING TO MAKE THINGS WORK.IM NOT A PRO AND THE SORRY MANUAL THAT COMES WITH THESE UNITS SUCK!!!I FEEL LIKE IVE SPENT 12 HUNDRED BUCKS FOR A PIECE OF EQUIPMENT I WANT TO THROW IN THE RIVER EVERY TIME I USE IT.THE SHARE STATION BURNS IN DVD FILES FORMAT(PPP FILES) NOT RECOGNIZED BY THE SOFTWARE THEY GAVE ME OR MICROSOFT PLAYER OR QUICK TIME.DOES ANYONE KNOW OF A GOOD INFORMATION SOURCE FOR USING THIS EQUIPMENT?BETTER YET DOES ANYONE WANT TO BUY THIS STUFF?

Inactive

I THINK YOUR CAPS LOCK IS STUCK! CHECK TO SEE THAT IT’S TURNED OFF! πŸ˜€

Okay, to answer your message, I personally wouldn’t buy a camera that used any format other than tape. Yeah, transferring onto the PC takes time, but it’s time well spent to get high quality footage.

Hard drive cameras usually use a compressed format, such as MPEG 2 to store footage. Even if you do figure out how to get the footage off your camera and on to your PC, editing it will be a big pain in the butt (I explained why over in this thread.)

I hate to say it, but your camera setup isn’t all that great. I wish I had better advice for you, but all I can suggest is that next time, you do a lot of market research and ask folks who use Camcorders in a paid position to find out what to buy. Sadly, for less than $800 more, you could have purchased either the Sony VX-2100 or the Canon GL-2, both of which are excellent cameras for videography.