Just Starting, Have Questions

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Greetings,

I am just starting out in film and am having trouble getting the information I want answered by any of the suits at the big electronic stores. Unfourtunate for me, I have no friends with experience in these matters either. I am looking for some (i call them simple) answers, and I am hoping that someone here might help me.

The project: I am doing a documentary of a precarious group of people and require equipment and know how.

1st question: What Camcorder should I look into. I have a budget of about 700dollars, and am looking at a mic, and a software compliment for this camcorder. I am hearing alot of good things about the Canon Vixia, but I have no idea if the information is accurate.

2nd question: I have heard that Vegas Softwarewould be above my grade for a documentary, but better to have it and not need it I always say. I want to eventually burn it to a dvd to watch, would Vegas work well for this and say normal burn software?

3rd question: With a documentary I am going to be interviewing people in some pretty noisy places, and would require the tools to turn down the volume levels of the area to better hear the subject’s response. Which program would I use, or would it depend on the mic or camcorder?

Any help would be appreciated…

Participant

Tough budget.  Sony has a bluetooth lapel mic you can pin on the subject and it links to the ActiveShoe receiver on a Sony camcorder.  Or buy a $99 Zoom mic and place very close to the subject then sync the audio and video in the editor (challenging).  I think you cold save money on the editor and sink it into the camera and mic by using AVS4You Video Editor – lots of bang for the buck.  Also, Corel and Magix products are decent for this type of work.

The AVS4You has some nice titling effects for lower thirds, etc. and allows for video overlays like Picture in Picture or PowerPoint slides with adjustable opacity, etc.