Just a few questions.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m an aspiring video editor, and I had a few questions about the industry in general.

Is it possible to have a steady job WITH OUT having your own business?
      If yes, is it rare?

Thanks,

Kyle

Hi Kyle,

Yes, it’s possible to work as an editor professionally and find steady and consistent work. Is it rare? Video is becoming more common place in many industries, from corporate video to viral marketing, so more opportunities are popping everywhere. But, being in a TV and Film environment where professional editing jobs exist in abundance would require you to be in at least a major city, if not LA or NYC.

Here’s some suggestions for finding editing work in your neck of the woods:
      See mandy.com (look up your area for jobs)
      Check you local media outlets; local broadcasters, cable company, news paper (many news papers are adding video to their websites to stay competitive)

Mark

Participant

Is it more or less on a project to project basis? I enjoy editing, but I find I need a steady job with out having to worry about finding work every couple months.
      Also, what is the best step to take to get my foot in the door, right out of school?

Participant

Anybody? πŸ™

Inactive

A very large company or research organization might have an in-house audio-visual facility. Such a facility woud be for making training videos, or technical presentations to outsiders. Getting your foot in the door probably requires a bit of luck…. being at the right place at the right time. And be prepared to start out as a general assistant, only getting editing work when it’s needed.