Is there a Rocket Scientist in the house ?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

G’day all. Can I ask your advice please ? I do hope this is not Rocket Science !
      I have a workshop / conference style event coming up. I would like capture it audiovisually.
      Here’s some pertinent information that may help with any responses.

1. Speakers will speak in front of about 80 people.
      2. They will use Powerpoint / Keynote in their presentations.
      3. I will have little control over the lighting (mostly dimmed for the Powerpoint / Keynote presentations).
      4. I have a Sony DCR-HC30E at my disposal and a tripod.
      5. I have no idea how to capture the audio effectively (previously, I can hear a slight whining-winding of the tape on footage I’ve taken before).
      6. I have some limited experience with iMovie and I’m treading carefully with FCE at the moment.
      7. I believe I’ll need to find a good place to position the camera and just be vigilant with tape switch overs and ensure power supply.

How am I doing ?

Inactive

Would it be possible for you to get a wireless mic? or even one that had a long enough cord that you could run to the stage? I definitely think you should get at about 45 degrees, but far enough away that you can still read the screen, for location. Also wearing headphones while you set up will help you train in the noise with the cameras built in controls.

Participant

There are a number of ways to go about recording the conference while dealing with lighting and sound. Your camera isn’t the best for low lighting and I’m sure that’ll mean that it won’t work well with the contrast of lighting on thepresenters face and the bright powerpoint slides in the background. Your camera does have a mic input, but it’s not a balanced XLR type so running a long mic cable to thepresenters podium will likely give you hum. However, you can get rid of some hum in post.