Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Inactive

USA

TEXAS

VICTORIA

15 January 2010

Hi there–

I am the multimedia news director for the Victoria Advocate. That means I direct most of the video posted on our website, along with anchoring a daily newscast called “Advocast.” (www.victoriaadvocate.com)

I’ve been shooting a Canon HV20 for about 2-1/2 years and, by straining my budget to the breaking point, would like to move up to a more professional camera. Obviously, flash memory cameras are the future, but I am torn between the JVC HM100 and the Panasonic HMC40 or 150.

One of the key requirements is–as all of you know–the hardest thing about video is audio. I want XLR connectors in a solid housing. That would point me to the JVC or the Panasonic 150. Ah, but look at the Panasonic HMC40–if I added the Beacktek attachment on the base.

Any of these choices represents a considerable hunk of cash so I don’t want to make a mistake. The Videomaker reviews both rather favorably, but it seems to lean toward the panasonic.

I would welcome any opinions or comments from anyone who has experience with either/both these cameras.

BTW: We edit with Adobe Premier 4.0; I know I have to jump to 7.0 to support AVCHD.

–Bill Clough

bclough@vicad.com

IMHO the key element between HMC40, HMC-150 and JVC is CMOS sensors vs CCD. My personal preference, and the reason I will go with the JVC or Panny 150 is primarily THAT – they use CCD. There’s enough information here and elsewhere regarding certain problems/issues with videotaping using camcorders equipped with CMOS so I’m not going to elaborate on that.

To me, all video all the time, and doing more than using static shots on a set of sticks, I do not want to incur the motion problems with my swish pans and other creative in-camera elements that remain the sticking point for many professionals in picking between CMOS & CCD.