introducing myself and a few questions

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Our school just got a lot of equipment for the art department. I was able to put a wish list together and it was approved.

In addition to our Canon GL2 and XL2, we got 2 Sony HVR-A1Us. These are some great HD cameras, not too much more expensive than the GL2.

Also, two Manfrotto tripods and dollys, along with with a boom mike and pole and two wireless XLR mikes.

Two greenscreens and 2 Lowel lights. See if you can get the school to lend some extra funding for more equipment.

You can do a doc basically with just a camcorder, but to get better results, use more equipment. Always go for the dramatic shots.

Hello
      I am a high school student and I’ve been in video production for 4 years now.
      Our class works with adobe premier pro 2.0
      And just about last year I’ve thought about making a documentary and in my video production class
      we dont really learn much about documentaries or anything.
      so I dont really know what I should have in my camera bag.
      and I dont have a camera just yet and I’ve been saving up for that.
      Do you know what kind of camera is reliable and of a good price?

I can’t remember any of my other questions.
      I think I will ask later.
      thanks.

Inactive

Here is Videomaker’s knowledge base for documentaries. Your camera will have to be suited for your needs. Are you going to do a lot of indoor shooting? If you will be using external mics, consider XLR camera inputs. Things that are a must: manual focus, manual iris, and the ability to control audio levels. Get the best tripod you can afford- can’t stress this enough.

http://www.videomaker.com/search/?cx=016301996033947342722%3A-xsmlwign8w&q=documentary&cof=FORID%3A11#1170

Keith Breazeal
      http://www.kbvp.com (a fun site)

Inactive