Ingesting mini DV to PC

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I’m pretty new to the videography world, in fact I’m headed to the bank tomorrow to get a startup loan. My question is this: what’s the best way to ingest a mini DV tape onto a PC? I have a camcorder with a firewire connection that I’ve used before but I’m wondering if the quality would be as good as if I were using a mini DV player/recorder. If I should use a player/recorder, what’s a good one to go with? I found this a JVC SR-DVM600US for around 900$… any advice on that?

In case it matters I’m editing with Adobe.

Rob
      Participant

Firewire is the best way to capture miniDV. The reason people use VTRs is to avoid wear and tear on their camera.

I have that same VTR you listed, but an earlier model that is miniDV/VHS. I got it in 05, have had no problems and doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon.

I have heard bad things about the one you listed though. DVD burner/copier seems to go bad. Look for some reviews before buying. If you don’t need the DVD burner/copier, I think it’s a good buy.

Coreece
      Participant

>>>I’m pretty new to the videography world, in fact I’m headed to the bank tomorrow to get a startup loan.

hey callegari,

good luck on the loan….would you be able to tell us how it goes. I’m interested in your experience with the bankers considering the state of the economy and how they handle your request…

…also, I see you got what looks like a new yahoo website account….I go with yahoo too, I like them alot.

Good luck! πŸ™‚

Anonymous
      Inactive

Thanks for the info, Rob. I was considering just using my camera but wasn’t too sure about it for the reasons you mentioned. I’ll probably just go with the mini DV/VHS since I’ll be authoring the DVDs on my PC.