I’m in in a very weird situation, advice please!!

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

OK, I need professional opinions here:

You guys know I’m interested in getting into weddings and although I have a lot of education don’t have a wedding reel to back it up. I’m booked for two weddings, but through acquaintances and I’ve offered to do two (I figured just my first two only) for free to get the experience and footage.

So, one of them is awesome and there’s no problem. The second one just laid a whopper on me. She’s HIRED ANOTHER videographer. So immediately, I’m like, h— no, forget that, but I don’t know if that is wise or prudent and it’s simply my pride is getting in the way of my future career progress. I mean, I have a master’s degree in film/video and she knows that, but I can only guess her reason is she thinks I’m a newbie and might screw it up and it’s her wedding, so I guess I can understand that point of view….I guess…

Now here is the REALLY weird part. She just told me, in this email that her older sister is the writer and director of the movie [b]MONSTER [/b](Charlize Theron won an Oscar for it). So I’m just in shock and TOTALLY don’t know what to do now. I mean, I’d almost do it just to meet her. And I’m sure I’d be so bold as to give her the screenplay that was my thesis in college (!)

So, what does everybody think? What would you do in my position? And what do I say to her? I already emailed her back and told her that I still love to do her wedding, am extremely talented, reinforced the degree, gushed over her sister, but told her I thought it would be a little strange working alongside of another videographer (I left out the part that it really pisses me off that I’m sure she’s paying the new addition) and I needed to think about it. Was very sweet and didn’t at all come across as mad, because I’m more in shock over the entire thing than anything else (mostly because of her sister!)