I’m a New Buyer: VX2100 v HDR-FX7

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m a budding video production graduate who’s done a few freelance projects from sporting events, to wrestling, to documentaries and interviews. Currently I am working with a Sony TRV17 amateur consumer level 1 CCD camera. In order to expand my business (or rather get it off the ground) I feel it is certainly time to upgrade to something more professional. I’ve looked at the Canon XL2 with mixed emotions and a handful of Sony cameras and seem to have settled on either the VX2100 or the FX7.

I’m in the market for something that is versatile, but I am unsure if HD is the way to go. The FX7 interests me a bit more due to its ability to record in either HD or Standard Def. I am looking for some real feedback from users instead of reviews and lists of specs which don’t tell me what I really want to know and can’t answer my questions.

Things I will be using it for; sporting events, plays, recitals, weddings, and the usual rundown of video for hire jobs. Of course eventually I would like to expand myself further than the money making jobs and venture into real film, movies and indie projects.

Participant

I think it’s too soon to go HD. Not many people can view it, I’ve heard that even pros don’t output in HD. They just record in HD and then downconvert on the import.

If you do choose to go HD, I would avoid the HDV codec. It’s buggy because it has a data rate of 25mbps, which is the same as DV. Also, if you go HD, you need to have a computer that can handle it. I’m sure it not hard for a computer to cut HD, but when you get into effects and graphics, you’ll need a decent computer.

I recommend the Sony PD170. It’s basically the VX2100, but it has XLR connections. Works very well in low light. I’ve used the XL1s before, but I didn’t really like it.

Invest in lights too. Don’t be one of those dudes who has a solid camera but no lights.

Participant