I’d like to have an opinion about this situation…..

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion I’d like to have an opinion about this situation…..

• This topic has 10 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 9 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

So I made a music video…. I’m 17 years old… I’ve been playing around with making videos since I was 10 years old. I’ve been accepted and will be attending Tribeca Flashpoint Academy in Chicago during the fall for Film Production & Broadcasting.

I’d just like to get opinions, and possibly a price you would put on this quality of a video. Basically so that I can make some videos before I go to school but make some money off of them so I have some spending money, or a nice new camera (which i obviously need).

Inactive

I’d just like to know an estimate of what this video may be worth?

Participant

I would say about $2500 to $5000 give or take.

Participant

Ryan –

OK – Watched it this morning. I’m really not a fan of most rap/hip hop music (probably less than a dozen songs I like of those genre) but I must say your video was at least as well made as any I’ve seen on VH-1 or MTV.

There were a couple of places where I found the visual story confusing (like the bar fight – why is it there with only a small amount of footage and nothing leading up to it? Or did I miss something in the lyrics that explained it).

But overall, it is well made, watchable, not too much glitz even though you use it liberally – it works.

As for what it’s worth – to whom? To you as a producer/dp/videographer/editor, then Charles is probably in the ballpark (unless it makes it’s way to television, then more). To the artist/their manager/publicist, it depends on how much revenue it brings in and/or how much interest in the artist it drives. Should it make it to a public venue like TV, then it would depend on advertising revenue.