I think I’m on the right track..or am I?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

For years I’m eager to make a few nature documentaries, and for a good while I have some scripts that ready to use.

I’m brand new in the world of video graphing so be patient with me please.

About those script:

I’m wondering if I did the right thing, have the rightapproach(for I never have seen a “real” script in my life)

First I did write the whole story that I want to be told and put that on sound-tape. Timed each segment of that story to determine the minimal length of the scenes. Various scenes are divided into sub-scenes (takes) to highlight certain aspects of the subject at hand. I investigated if the time of a “take” is not too long or too short by comparing that with existingdocumentaries of the same kind.Also I sort out some background sound/music that fit the nature of mydocumentary.

Well, I think it will work out just fine. I visualize that it going to work as planned.

Do you think this is the right approach? Any suggestions?

Participant

Most documentaries’ stories are put together in post. This is because they are simply docuemented in the field (hence the name). It sounds like you are making more of a feature. That said, you are planning it fine. Unless you are bound to a specific running time, you are set.

Participant

My suggestion would be to do an outline only of what you want, and then let the story evolve in your edit. By locking yourself into a tight script for a nature feature you run the risk of missing a wonderful opportunity to do something truly unique. So have a plan, but don’t go out with it etched in steel! Most important, HAVE FUN DOING IT! Good Luck!

Inactive

Thanks guys!

I’m glad you both think I’m on the right track.Of course there is room for changes / additions etc. (thus certainly not etched in steel :D)