I need to choose a camcorder

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi.. I need your expertice help..
      Im new in videographer bussiness.. Non expert.
      My primary jobs are weddings (low ligth conditions), school events (indoor and outdoor) and even some times, comercial promos (amateur quality) Ive been working with GL2 (in rental) a good camcorder i think.. but its time to buy my own.

What am I thinking about the camcorder
      1.- Technology (HD or SD)
      Mybe i dont need the HD for this moment.. but Im thinking in the future.. I dont want an obsolete camcorder in 1 or 2 years. I wont buy a new camcorder at least in 3 years
      I work with FC express, sometimes in iMove HD and maybe in a few months move to FC Express 3.5 HD

2.- If I dont have HD, think in my job.. weedings, school events. I already have a Bescor Video Ligth 50 watts dimmer light with 7MM battery (i dontcare use an extra light)

3.- Features. I mean.. I dont know what is my future in this bussiness. Maybe Ill need some features like 24P or cinema look– i really dont know, but I want to cover as many features as possible.

I spent 7 days looking an advice to choose a camcorder. I live in permanent headache trying to choose one.
      Ive been compare:
      SONY VX 2100
      Canon XL2
      Sony HDR FX1
      Canon GL2
      Pannasonic AG-DVC60
      Panasonic AG-DVX 100B

I like shoulder mount camcorder like PannyDVC60 or XL2, but i dont want to choose one considering only that feature.
      Can anybody well experienced give me and solid advice…?
      If you can order the list above in your preferences
      Please. give me a choice ilike you are in my shoes.. what camcorder will you buy????

Inactive

Personally, having used the VX-2100 and the GL-2, I’d say they’re both fine cameras. I don’t think either one is going to be "obsolete" soon, either.