I need help QUICK!

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi everyone.

I’ve been reading various posts, and you have all been very informative, so thank you!

I’m a budding videographer. Up until now I’ve used a JVC GRD72, and it’s kinda gone kaput on me recently. I have been asked to videotape a wedding in the very near future (READ: I need help QUICK!), so now’s the time to take the plunge and shell out the cash. I need some serious advice on what camcorder to purchase.

I’d love to say that money is no object, but it is. The highest I could probably go is $3000, but I’d rather stay around $2000 (plus you gotta consider all the extras – tripod, audio, etc.). I’ve been looking at the Canon GL2, the Sony VX2100, and the Panasonic AG-DVC30. I’ve read great reviews for all of them, and each one seems to lack one thing that the other excels in.

So, I need help. I understand that low light capabilities are a must. I would love something that works great in candlelight-type situations. plus i want good audio. I know relying on the in-camera mic is not really the best bet – so any recommendations on mics as well?

Sorry – lot of post. Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

Thanks in advance

Participant