I have $6000. What would YOU buy?

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m an intermediate videographer that has gotten this far with borrowed equipment believe it or not, but now its time to start making some money with video and I need my own stuff.

I’ve got exactly 6000 cash to spend on my equipment which is to include a camera (with accessories) and a hardcore workstation.

I have my heart set on a GL2 so I already know that eats 2k. And I’ve also configured an Alienware workstation that weighs in a 3k.

Do you think it’s possible to get the remaining accessories for $1000? And by the way what accessories would you recommend?

I thought about a stablizing kit, tripod and a hard case for the camera but other than that, I don’t know what to get.

By the way I’ll be shooting motocross racing so I will always be outside and in the dust and elements.

Thoughts?

Participant

My personal opinion is to maybe spend a little less than the $3k on the comp. If you are computer saavy like me you may want to build it yourself. Alienware rocks but you can build about the same system for half what you will spend from alienware. BTW, is software included in that $3k? If not, don’t forget it! Another alternative would be to get a mac if you really want to spend that much.

Participant

Here’s one and one half cents worth.
      It sounds like you have already spent 3K on the editing system, so you have 3K left?
      You should really do some research on the GL2. In this forum and others there have been allusions to a problem that crops up with the tape moving mechanism breaking down after a period of a year or so. The degree of chatter on this subject (which in fact but who knows could be a lot of chatter from just a few individuals) steered me away from my early consideration of a GL2.