I don’t know what prices I should be asking for the jobs

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion I don’t know what prices I should be asking for the jobs

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m doing a big job for the school district where I live and I don’t know what to charge that for all of my work. I did a lot of shooting thru the yrs. and I still have to put it together and edit it all together and get to find out if they like it and want ? copies and they were talking into the hundreds. Can any one help me and I also have another job to do but I don’t know what to charge and all the right questions for this work. I’ve never done anything like it before. Maria

Participant

Maria maybe this will help. Total the cost of your equipment,(including computer, software, camera). Also add whatever other equipment you use and get a total. Then divide your total equipment cost by 12months or 12. Here is an example:

Equipment Cost $5000 divided by 12 = $416. So it cost you $416 dollars each month to use your equipment. So in order for you to make a profit your base needs to be no less than $416.

Now after this you need to calculate the hours it take to complete your project and add that to your base! Such as $15-$20 dollars an hour. And add it to your base. You can deduct some cost at your discrection. But make sure you are able to make some type of profit. “DON’T SHORT YOURSELF ON YOUR HARD WORK”. It’s not worth it!!

I hope this helps you out and I wish you much success!

Participant