HVR-A1U image quality versus GL2?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m a documentary filmmaker, and in August I’m taking a trip to Africa to film some promotional material for an organization that’s building schools in third-world countries. I currently own a Canon GL2 and it’s served me very well thus far. I was thinking, however, about upgrading to HD, and while researching camcorders, the Sony HVR-A1U caught my attention. Not only is it HD, but there’s the added appeal of its size, which would be less intimidating for young children and great for documentary filming. But I’m worried about the image quality that could be lost by moving from a 3CCD to a 1CMOS camcorder, despite the fact that it’s HD. Does anyone know if I will be improving my image quality (overall), or will it remain about the same? Or, would I be downgrading? The 8-minute promotional video that I’ll be shooting will be shown at a fundraising concert in November, and it will also be shown when the organization takes a cross-country promotional/awareness tour next year. So, it needs to be the best quality possible, but I’m on a tight budget right now and I’m not sure if I should “upgrade” to the A1U or stick with my GL2. Any thoughts?

Participant

The reason why 3 CCDs is better than 1 CCD is because with 3, each CCD only has to capture one of the 3 primary colors; red, green and blue. With 1 CCD, that CCD is in charge of capture all the colors at once, and as a result it’s less than great color reproduction.

CMOS sensors, on the other hand, are used in many digital SLR cameras and seem to do a pretty good job. And those DSLR cameras only have 1 CMOS. I think you would be in good shape going to a camera with 1 CMOS sensor. I would assume 3 CMOS sensors is better than 1 CMOS sensor of course.

You may be able to find more information on the internet about this topic.

Participant