How to Edit and Transfer Data in Video Camera with MiniDV

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing How to Edit and Transfer Data in Video Camera with MiniDV

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello, Sorry to disturb you all. I am newbie here.

Recently, I recorded a conference using Video Camera with MiniDV. It is about 60 minutes in duration.

I would like to edit the video so that I could eliminate some parts before sending for other party. May I know how could I edit? What should I do to start? I apologize if my question sounds so silly, please forgive me.

Another question is I will transfer the video (from Video Camera to computer because I have to return the MiniDV to its owner) using a public computer in my school. How could I copy the video to my home computer? I guess the size is quite big and I have no idea how could I transfer the whole video from school computer to my home computer.

Please give me suggestions, please, please. I promise I will do my best. Please forgive me if I post in wrong place.

Inactive

The other possibility is to burn a DVD in HQ mode( one hour vs two hour record time) which will produce excellent quality due to the higher bitrate. Most editing/DVD authoring software will allow you to import this directly from the drive.

Inactive

[quote="compusolver"]A sixty minute conference? Don’t edit it at all – sell it as a sleep aid! X-D

Have you seen that commercial where the guy’s on the phone to his surgeon, holding a knife and receiving instructions on where to begin the incision on himself? That’s sort of the position you’re in.

My advice would be to call your local wedding videographer (because he’ll be cheaper than a standard video production company). It’ll probably cost you a hundred or so, but it will be worth it.

If you’re determined to DIY, you’ll need a firewire cable and probably some help from a knowledgable video person who can be there with you.[/quote]