How to choose an external monitor.

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      SgtWelshSgtWelsh
      Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m editing on sony vegas pro 10 on a dual lcd display. (outputting from my graphic card). I’m planning to buy the Blackmagic Design Decklink Studio because I would like to monitor the video that I edit. It’s around 700 dollars, a lot of bucks.

After that, I figure out I will need an external monitor. How I’m suppose to choose them ? Do I need a computer LCD display or just an HDTV ? I need something good, but I ‘m not interrested buying something expensive because I’m not a professionnal, as my job has nothing to do with editing.

Thank you very much

Steve

Hey Sargent,

First off, Vegas has a good link-up with your second screen as monitor so if you’re sweating it up front that’s your first option. Having a secondary external monitor is a good thing particularly if you’re making deliverables for broadcast viewing or on DVD/Blu-Ray. As for what to get, the question you should ask yourself is; what am I planning on doing?

That meaning, if you’re doing this as a hobby you can easily get by with just using your second monitor and Vegas’ built-in setup. If this is for a semi-or pro setup, then an external is required. The main thing to keep in mind is your budget and the fact that your gear purchases need to pay for themselves. On the front-end, an LCD TV is a good and inexpensive option. You can get one in various sizes and resolutions. The drawbacks are they are tough to calibrate to broadcast standards and have limited controls to do so.