How much should I charge?

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author

VIDEOMAKER EDIT (4/22/13): We have created a online calculator to help address this question. Try our Video Rate Calculator here.

Hello, I'm a video editor/videographer I have no idea how much to charge by the hour. So far i just charge my clients depending on how long and how much effects they want on there video. I us:

– FCP (Final Cut Pro Studio)
      – Mac Dual Core.
      – Canon XL1s
      – Adobe Master Collection CS4

Here's a sample of my work:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyfctKAebPA

Hope to get s response.

Participant

Some questions:

1) Charge for what – Wedding package? TV Commercial? Corporate Video? Nusic Video?

2) Where are you? Different places have higher costs than others. Sometimes it works in the opposite way of what you’d think (some larger markets have more competition, driving prices lower).

The equipment and software you use is irrelevant to the price you charge – If your final product is worth $5000, you should charge $5000 regardless of actual cost of production.

Participant

Hey birdcat, WTF??? You didn’t say a thing to help with Bruce’s dilemma. You sound like a politician. Lot’s of verbiage with no substance. If you have nothing meaningful to say, don’t say anything.

Sorry I can’t help you Bruce. I have the same problem, but I like your demo. You might try the politician’s way of doing things. When asked how much the project will cost, reply by asking how much he intended to spend. It works for me more often than you might think.

Wizard, watch your mouth. It’s OK to have an opinion and to express yourself in an professionally courteous manner, but there’s no reason to “go off” on a poster or moderator just because you’re emotionally invested in the topic. And to come onboard and pop off then say you can’t help well, seems a similar non-service IMHO.