How much should i charge?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hey guys!

As you all know,I am a big aspiring photographer. This monday, my friend told me her mom was havingabirthday party and she wanted me to take pictures of the event. The only problem is thatI don’tknow how much I should charge her. This would be my first “real gig” (if you can even call it that), and although I amcomfortable in charging her for my services,I don’t want to make it too expensive. I amgoingto take all the pictures, editing them in Adobe Lightroom, and then burn them in a Lightscribe dvd along with a quick slideshow with the best photographs.

What is an average amount for a first timer?

Thank You,

Caio

D0n
      Participant

Can’t just toss out a price, your market may be different than mine, but just figure out your actual costs for materials, how much time you estimate you’ll need to complete the project and multiply your expected wage by the amount of time, add in your materials cost (gas, media, wear and tear on gear) and add in a small percentage for profit.

Compare that estimate with what your competitors in your area are charging…

composite1

Caio,

When figuring out what to charge for a given profession the best place to start is your state’s Occupation and Employment Statistics page on the state gov. website. There you can plug in an occupation (in your case photographer) and find out what the average wage per year or per hour is.

Once you find out what the average hourly wage is (since you’ll be working as a freelancer) then you make your adjustments for the added cost of things like supplies, travel time (fuel), and so on. Since you probably don’t have a lot of overhead (rent, food, equipment purchases, utilities, auto payments, etc.) you can safely base your pay for now upon the wage itself and estimate how much time it will take to shoot the party and how long it will take to prepare the final product for delivery.