How much is this video worth?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi everyone,

I am new to freelancing and NYC so I am having a hard time coming up with figures to charge potential clients. I just finished a project for a friend and was hoping other professionals could take a look and be honest with what I should/could charge for something like this. Either hourly, or as a package deal. I am in desperate need of some real numbers that match my skill level and services provided!

The project involved me taking 8 hours (10 tapes) of home videos (poorly shot/lit) and editing them into a 30 minute long montage in chronological order. This also included color correcting, adding music, cleaning up audio and adding basic titles throughout.This took me roughly 30 hours.

She also wanted a short music video with selected clips that she could share on YouTube and Facebook. This is the link to that, so you can get an idea: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDyvmjWFk7o This one took me about 6 hours. The longer version looked similar in style, (without the moving picture effect), and also included audio.

If anyone has any accurate figures, ideas or honest advice I would greatly appreciate it! Keep in mind that I am in NYC, so if you live elsewhere then please let me know how the market there compares if have any idea. THANKS!!!

Participant

Very cute! That was royalty-free music, wasn’t it? I can’t give you an accurate amount, that’s between you and your friend for this project. You may check newspapers, Craigslist and other online sites, to see what your peers are charging.

Participant