How much do i charge?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi Im a freelance videographer based in Texas who has done the majority of my work independently working on varios surf and skate movies. I recently was hired by a company to occasionaly help shoot weddings and also occasionally rent them my camera. I am new to the whole filming wedding gig. How do i go about coming up with prices? The company wants me to list my price for: Renting my camera(Sony VX2000) last Saturday for a two hour shoot and then this Saturday they will be using me and my camera for another shoot around 2 hours. Anyone have any suggestions? I dont want to get ripped off but I would also like the company to call me offer me more work. Any ideas are appreciated.

Participant

Charge more for renting the camera than for sending a videographer and camera. take a deposit for the full replacement cost of the camera if you do rent it.

figure out what you need to pay yourself for your time and wear and tear on your gear, and any other business costs. Compare that to what your competitors are charging. If they are charging considerably more or less than your estimates, find out why, and then make some descisions.

I doubt any advice stating “Charge xxx amount of dollars” is going to help you more than advice telling you to “make a business plan” and figure it out.

Participant

The cam you have that they want to rent, Is it a spare you have, or the one you make your living with?

If it’s a spare then rent it, like don said get the replacment price as a deposit. and far as how much call your local video shops and ask them what they charge. normaly the rental market charges 5 to 10% per day of the replacment price of the gear.

If it is your main cam then do not rent it. If it’s a deal killer then call a local rental company and reant one from them add 10% for your trouble, and don’t forget the replacment cost as a deposit.

Participant