How long to keep files for old projoects before deleting

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion How long to keep files for old projoects before deleting

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a wedding videographer and I was wondering if any other videographers could give me some advice on how long they keep their files before deleting them… To free up hard drive space.

I have about 7 events saved to a Hard Disk.
      Included are:
      – Video files downloaded from DV tapes.
      – Project files
      – Rendered segments
      – DVD Files
      – Music/sound
      – Pictures

Now I figure that I am going to keep the DVD files and rendered segments for a while, just in case.
      But the original video files from the DV tapes… do I really need to keep those. I don’t have a backup copy on tape, I have already reused those tapes. But I figure the video has been edited and produced, so The rendered files and DVD files would be all I really needed … Right?

Thanks for the advice.

Participant

I generally tell the clients when I deliver the DVDs to let me know within X days if there is an issue with the video (meaning technically, not just if they want it redone). After that period I feel free to save a copy of the DVD image and any other footage I want to keep and delete the rest. If the client has no issues, there’s no reason to keep it all, IMO.

Inactive

I do something similar (but not exactly the same) as Endeavor. I send my clients an evaluation DVD, and let them know that if they want any changes made, to let me know within a certain time frame (usually 30 days). I let them know that as soon as I hear from them (or if I don’t hear from them in that time), I’ll send out the final copies. I’ll typically wait a week or so after I send out the final copies (just in case), and then I wipe them out, all of them.