How do you get to be a CERTIFIED video pro?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

OK, we’ve threshed out all about becoming a video pro before, but how do you get to be a CERTIFIED video pro? Is there a well-knownexam you have to take?

The reason I ask is, I graduated from my local Community College with a Certificate in Video/TV Production this last spring, and wondered if that meansI can put on my resume: “Certified Video Professsional”. The certificate is a one year, occupational, standard college certificate, basically a lesser Associate’s Degree.

I don’t want to put”Certified” on my resume, if in reality, it means you’ve taken some exam I haven’t taken. That’s just plain unethical. At the same time, I think this will give me more clout in the video community, seperating me from the accountant in the next town over, who started a wedding video business by shooting his cousin’s wedding a few years ago.

What’s your opinion, or do you know the real answer?

Participant

Wow! I didn’t think this was so hard a question! Or maybe it’s a super-obvious question.

Idid some research on it and can’t find any big exams, except for specialty companies that do sound systems for convention centers, hotels, etc. and you’d be certified with their company.

Any thoughts? If this seems super obvious to you, it doesn’t to me. All I need is for someone to say “Duh, dude, it’s…”

Thanks!

Participant

What exactly is a Certified Video Pro?