How do I break in as a digital editor?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi everyone,

I have been looking
      for a position as an intern or editors assistant in Los Angeles for about 3
      years now, since I graduated from college with a degree in Media Arts, and Im
      starting to run out of ideas and become frustrated as to why nobody will hire
      me. As far as experience goes, I have worked
      at two tv stations and on the behind the scenes featurette of a large scale
      film. I know Final Cut, Premiere, After
      Effects and Photoshop, and spent about 2k this year taking an AVID course and
      getting an AVID technical certification. I have a subscription to
      Media-match.com and get job alerts sent to my email. Ive been applying to
      about 15 online jobs a week but I never get any responses. Lately I have been
      calling post-houses off LA411.com and cold calling for basic internships in order to
      learn a little more and just get my foot in so I can start on the ground floor
      of a company and grow with the position. I have offered to work for free for a trial
      period at all the places Ive calledAfter about 2 months, Ive had one
      interview but no call back, and most of the people I talk to seem to just be either
      incredibly flaky, or just giving me the run around. I also have a demo reel…. http://www.vimeo.com/17581129, but
      after all the positions Ive applied to it only has 8 views?

Is there something I am doing wrong or missing?

How am I supposed to break into this industry if I dont
      know anybody and nobody will take a chance on me?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

-Jesse

Participant

Cold call, get your foot in the door, take what is offered.

It sounds like you already know you’ll start for nothin’. Don’t hesitate to start today. There are always folks who need your help.