Hot Rod show opportunity

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Every year there is a hot rod show in my area, over 1000 hot rod and custom cars are on display. There is a burn-out competition and certain categories are judged. I am an independant videographer producing mainly weddings and corporate video but always think there must be an opportunity to make and sell video from this. I would like to get some ideas about rights/pricing/sales etc before talking to the organises.

Participant

You can surf my store page at http://www.ModdinArt.com if it helps.
      They are fun events but unless you engage as a participant or at least an enthusiast, your just gonna have fun at an event and add to your reel.

I have had a degree of success covering such events as a civic focus for local cable television; as a special documentary, focusing on production values and income from either the organizers or group of owners of the primary displays; as a guerrilla-style walk-on – shooting, conducting interviews and passing out business cards inviting those participating to contact and order; and by reading of such events in advance, approaching the primary organization for permission and releases, offering them a free production in exchange for purchase of some established minimum number of copies.

All have worked, and I rarely bump up against commercial competition (for some unknown reason) at these events, usually only having to deal with a group from the local cable or, if huge enough event, local television stations as well as the occasional CNN OCN or other. These guys really think they have the goods and can often become territorial dictators at times. I just grin and move on, or forward instead of butting heads or conducting pissing matches. They’re going for the byte, I’m going for the bread.