High-Definition Cameras arent good?

Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Im new to this and was looking at some Cameras, but i was hearing, lots of people didnt think High-Definition is good.Something about its hard to edit? Why is it? And they were saying most people dont have HD-TV, but we can still play HD movies on SD-TVs cant we?

Also i was looking at the Canon HV30 and the Sony HDR-HC9. They are both on Mini DV arent they? Also i was hearing people say DV is better then DVD and hard drive, also because DVD’s and Hard Drives are hard to edit, or something about Compression…?

Also, surly a High-Definition Camera, wouldn’t be able to record long on a Mini-DV?

Also, can we turn Hi Dif Cameras off, High Dif if we wanted to?

Please Inlight me

Thanks

Participant

Wow, thats a lot of questions. I haven’t worked with HD but I still know a think or two. Here goes:

“Im new to this and was looking at some Cameras, but i was hearing, lots of people didnt think High-Definition is good.Something about its hard to edit? Why is it?”

HD is good, but what format your recording and how powerful your computer is determines whether or not you will have a hard time with HD. I would assume that the consumer camcorders don’t need very powerful computers to edit the footage, although throughout my time on the Videomaker forum, people have mentioned some formats that I’ve never heard of before, like .VOD for instance. Some editing programs might not support the format you are shooting and that’s where you may run into problems as well.

“And they were saying most people dont have HD-TV, but we can still play HD movies on SD-TVs cant we?”

It’s true, most people don’t have HDTVs. They are pretty expensive still, and I’ve heard they rack up your electric bill if you get big ones. I’m not sure if you can play HD movies on a standard definition TV. I do know that you will need a Blu-Ray DVD player though, since that will be the standard media for HD content.