High Def Cameras

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      hgnacik
      Participant

I am an event videographer and have been using the SONY VX2100 for several years and have been very happy with the resulting video. I have yet to lose a job due to not providing high def video but I’massuming that in the near future I’ll need to begin providing that service.I’m wondering if other event videographers are using high def cameras and if so which ones. What are the items you like about the camera and what are the items you wish the cameras had.

Rob
      Participant

I’m not an event videographer, but if I was going to buy into HD here it was I would be thinking about:

1. The Format – There’s a whole bunch — AVCHD, HDV, DVCPro HD, and XDCam HD, to name a few. Those are the formats I see most often. What’s the difference between all of them? AVCHD and HDV are very compressed; AVCHD is more compressed than HDV. That causes problems if you are going to be doing any wild effects and/or compositing. DVCProHD and XDCam HD are less compressed. DVCPro HD is made by Panasonic and XDCam HD is made by Sony, although I’ve read that JVC will also be supporting that codec soon.

2. Frame rates / resolution – The resolutions are 1920X1080 and 1280X720. They can both record in 24p, 30p, 60i, and 60p, but not all cameras record all the resolutions and frame rates. 108060p is harder to find in the less costly prosumer models.

Also, some cameras record 1440X1080 and stretch the images to cover 1920X1080. Others record true 1920X1080.

3. Media – When I go HD, I want toimplementa tapeless workflow. Tape is nice because you know your footage is there and initially it’s cheaper; however, P2 cards are proven to be very stable and cut capture time down by a lot. Actually, if you decide to record to tape, then you need an HD deck too, unless you want to wear out your camera. So going tapeless may actually be cheaper depending on how many cards you get.