HI, I’m new and need help (long post)

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi, my name is Dick (yeah I know…) and this is my very first post on any video graphic forum.

I’m brand new in the world of motion pictures. So new even, that I still have to order my equipment (more about this later)

For some decades I’m into photographing (mainly nature and Art) and for some years I have the urge to film some nature documentaries. After attending some courses about this, people (and I) seem to notice that I do have some talent waiting to express itself.

It was not easy to find a forum with people that are serious about filming regardless if they are pro or
      amateur. I feel this forum will be a great help for every filmmaker regardless the level of experience.

Now, relevant to the reason of this thread:

I decided to do tape-less (flash) filming. Tapes are very “yesterday” and don’ stay good very long in the tropics. Also the availability on Aruba of tapes can be a problem. In short: I do NOT want to use tapes.

I think and hope that I have already a very good idea about pre-production and I think I will manage (with help) with the production. The learning curve is already very exciting and will never end. “Learning something new every day and all days of my life”

My budget to invest in equipment is set to about $6,000.00 This must cover the camera, extra batteries, some filters, flash cards, tripod and some other little things.

The main thing is the lens. The camera has to come with a very decent “kit” lens that can do a decent job regarding shooting nature documentaries. In the world of photographing, I know exactly what I need, but video graphing will be likely a whole other store. The lens, I think, is one of the most important things and will require an additional investment later in time. Right now I’m not able to spend an additional $X,XXX.XX for a lens.

This is the camera what I have in mind: Sony HDR-AX2000 AVCHD