hi everyone, newbie in need of advice!

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

i’m making some low budget medical training videos, and i’ve picked up a mid range 3 chip consumer camera (the panasonic pv-gs320) to learn a bit before i take the plunge witrh a $2,500 prosumer cam.

i’ve got plenty of computer, and i’m looking for a video editing package. i’m willing to spend 500 or so on this, but there seem to be so many options out there, it’s downright confusing. i’m a student, so i can get a student version of adobe premier or sony vegas for around $300.

who likes what and why? am i really better off to stay with a low end package like adobe premier or sony’s low end vegas, since the learning curve is substantial for the other packages? after all, what i’m trying to do is really pretty simple. these are going to be training videos i’ll sell through ebay. all will run on computer as part of a cd rom software package.

thanks everyone for your input here!

of course, i’ve got dreams of getting a lot of equipment and doing great things, but i’ve got to get my feet underneath me here and just get a basic grasp. it’s wonderful to find a community like this online!

Participant

Seen your post about editors for PC. I use Final Cut so I cant help you too much on the PC side. But most people seem to have Adobe or Avid. But I would suggest instead of selling thru eBay, ou’d have better luck with CustomFlix.com/Amazon.com. The medical world does not take eBay seriously (and I dont blame them)
      At least listing with Amazon you’ll have a reutation.

Ed March
      MarchDVD.com

Participant

the niche markets that i’m working are substantially represented on ebay in terms of dollars. given that i can program software and have intimate knowledge of the subject matter, i think it’s a great way to get stated.

there are folks who have made a mint on ebay. i *love* ebay!