New Guy!

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      VideoRookie
      Participant

I just wanted to take a moment to say “Hi”. I am new to this site and I am new to video making/editing. I’m really interested in meeting others and getting into this stuff. I live in Edmonton Alberta Canada. Drop me a line anytime. I’m available on MSN Messenger as well.

Rob
      Participant

hi.

EarlC

Welcome, VR. Tell us more about what you’ve done, what you’re doing, and your future video plans.

VideoRookie
      Participant

> Welcome, VR. Tell us more about what you’ve done, what you’re doing, and your future video plans.

Hey, thanks for the welcome. I have not really done much but tinker around so far. However, I want to start getting serious about it. Not sure where it will all take me. For me, I am looking at it as a career change. Hopefully one that will pay the bills. πŸ˜‰

VideoRookie
      Participant

> hi.

Hi there. From what I see in your little pic, you have a setup I wouldn’t mind playing with at my place. πŸ˜‰

Daryl
      Participant

Hey hows it going

EarlC

VR, with the right marketing, a good set of tools, and experience you can certainly make a living, and more, as a professional independent video services provider. What has worked for me is diversity, since video is ALL I do and on a full time basis (writing, graphics design, and video are my ONLY sources of income) I pretty much manage to make as much on virtually ANY given gig as I did in my regular day job working 40 hours or more a week.

Some producers like/prefer to “specialize” in say, wedding, or such, and that is all fine and good. However, there are so many other celebrations of life that go on virtually everywhere, with the right marketing you cannot help but generate income. I have two marketing slogans: “If you market, you will make it,” and “Somebody somewhere celebrates something every day!” 1990-2008 Earl Chessher.