HF G10, NEX VG10, DSLR?

Viewing 29 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello,

So I am off to college this fall and will be needing my own personal camera since I cannot use my highschool’s cameras anymore. That being said I am a college student on a very very strict budget and really need the best bang for my buck. My absolute max budget is $2,000 dollars and that is pushing it quite a bit. I am aware that a lot the users here have higher-end cameras but your advice will still be appreciated. That being said here are some general things I like on my cameras.

• Shallow depth of field, Manual Focus
      • HD at least 24mbps
      • Tapeless – onto SD card or similar
      • Ability to add at least some sort of lense.
      • A viewfinder of some sort would be nice.
      • I dump my footage quite often, so memory size is not too crucial.
      • Nice still pictures, I’ve always wanted a DSLR quality still camera, but if I need to buy that seperate some other time that is fine.
      • I create short videos, I’ve never shot at a Wedding or anything like that.

So the devices I am looking at currently are the Canon Vixia HF G10 (I was considering the XA10 but don’t really need the XLR inputs, especially for +$500), and the Sony NEX-VG10. I was really hoping to get the NEX VG10 but it has not dropped in price too much and that is just for the body. Other than those I have been considering just buying one of the nicer DSLR cameras capable of HD video. Unless the price-quality ratio was very nice, I think I want to stay away from that for a multitude of reasons.

1.) I’ve never owned a DSLR and am not very comfortable with the plethora of menus and settings. 2.) The form factor may be annoying. 3.) I’ve heard bad things considering recording time and autofocus. 4.) I don’t know the market of DSLRs at all and have no idea which are the best. Though if most of those cons have been worked out by now I will definitely consider them.