Here Be Answers about Cameras, Editing Software, etc

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Production Gear Here Be Answers about Cameras, Editing Software, etc

Viewing 29 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Every couple days or so,some new video apprentice will post a question about what (pick one:camera, editing software, tripod, microphone, etc.) to buy.

I was thinking maybe we could all post our thoughts/opinions about this generic question here and then refer allnewbies to this post. Maybe it would save typing time? Whatever…

I’ll go first.

Participant

Hey! Welcome to the Videomaker forums! I’m a filmmaker, motion graphics designer, 3D animator and music composer.

What you’re asking isa very subjective question. I think most people are biased one way or the other. The important thing to understand is: There isNO one right camera, microphone, tripod or editing software. Here’s what I think:

1. Camera Price: You should SERIOUSLY consider using what you have already. It’s better to study it out yourself and save your money, then decide you only need Uncle Elbert’s old camera after all, then run out and buy a piece of junk.

2. HD Cameras: I use a Flash Media camera (SD) and have used it forfour of my lastsix films. I’m planning on using it for myseventh. It’s good enough for me.I think HD is partly just a way for employers to weed out the pros from the amateurs. In this business, it’s “What have you done lately?” Show ’em your lastproject in SDwhich usedevery trick you could think of and you’ll probably be hired instead of the amateur with the HD camera.

3. Camera format and other features: If somebody tells you some format is better than another, then theyknow what works for them. This is called agency and everyone has it. We can choose to like brussel sprouts or hate them or not care one way or the other. Figure out what works for you and go with it.