Inactive

Hello,

Forgive my amateurish post. However I am a beginner in need of
      help. I have access to both a Sony GL1 camcorder and also a small
      JVC GZ-HD3 HD camcorder. I’m attempting to make a dramatic short
      that will be uploaded to the internet (youtube, openfilm, etc) and also
      burned to dvd. To all of you with intermediate – Professional
      experience, (all other nuances, lighting, etc) which camcorder would
      you use (based off of the cameras stats/reputations if any)…

Thanks in advance,

BC

Participant

The first question to ask: Do you have a computer capable of editing HD video? If you have a normal run-of-the-mill editing workstation, then shoot SD with the GL1.

Personally, I would use the GL1 anyway, just for the manual control options, but I don’t know what your camera knowledge and skill levels are.

Sony makes a GL1? I thought that was Canon’s nomenclature, and the Canon GL1 has been replaced (for some years now) with the GL2. I could be all wet, but I cannot find a Sony model GL1.

If it IS in fact the Canon GL1 (preferably GL2) I’d also go with that camera due to its magnificent optical stabilization, GREAT glass (lens) and a host of manual controls.

Try to Google search for Sony GL1 and you will see not only your request here listed, but will mostly be directed to Canon GL1, not Sony – there is a comparison of the Canon GL1 and the Sony TRV900.

Inactive

Sorry all, I tried to correct this in another post. it is indeed the Canon GL1. Thanks for your responses. BC

Inactive

Regarding my skill level, Beginner would be an over statement. I’m using final cut express hd 3.5.1 on a mac- 1.83 core 2 duo with 2 gigs of ram. I have very minimal gear, & knowledge but I am using online tutorials and communities to get my feet wet. I’m very motivated to get some work accomplished so any/all advice is welcome. thanks in advance.