HELP ME!! (I’m new to all this)

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

About two months ago I purchased a Panasonic VDR-D100, my first camcorder. I purshased it with the plan of being able to eventually edit the video on a computer. That is where my problem begins! I can not get the video exported into either the Mac’s editing software, or Adobe Premier on a PC. If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate it.

Inactive

What sort of camera is that? Is is DVD, or solid-state? ‘Cause if so, you got yourself into a lot of trouble. You should have stuck to tape.

Participant

Like svhs said your in some trouble because it is a DVD based camera. These cameras are made for people who just want to shoot and put the dvd in the player and play. Not for people who want to edit. I wish I could tell you something else but usually the only software that will work is the software that comes with the camera. I have no experience with dvd cameras but I don’t know of a single piece of decent software that will support capture from your camera. DV (and now HDV) cameras are what you want. Any software worth its salt will support these formats.

Inactive

Thank you for the help. It appears that I should have researched the ability to edit by computer a little futher.

If anyone happens to know if there is software that could make it possible to edit with Adobe, I would appreciate it. For future reference, what should be my next means of media?

Inactive

MiniDV is usually the best option.

Inactive

For now, find a friend with a DV camcorder that has video in. Record your DVD footage to the DV camcorder. Use that DV camcorder to import your footage. I won’t be perfect, but you can recover what you already shot.

Inactive

Good advice. You’ll lose a little quality, but not as much as if you started to edit the mpeg files.