Help! I want to make a tuition video.

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

As will become apparant I’m new to this video production thing.

I’m used to working in music production (it’s part of my job). But I would like to make a series of guitar tuition videos.

Unfortunately I don’t know how to do this, I want to sync up two cameras (one for the full image and another for close up of the guitar neck, and a couple of microphones (one for my voice and the other for the guitar amp). I’d like to also do picture in picture.

Im not sure quite what equipment (Hardware/software) would be suitable. As with any business the budget is tight. Could anyone explain how to do this or reccomend suitable kit. The output is intended for the internet.

Thanks.

Participant

I should maybe mention that I use a PC as I can’t stretch to the Mac.

Participant

Hi Stoogie,

This sounds like an interesting project. I am assuming by “tuition” you mean instructional videos that are intended to teach the view how to play something on the guitar.

First, plan out your video. Write down, story board fashion is best, exactly what each scene is to look like as far as camera angles, sound, background etc are concerned. Keep these very simple as flashy video effects usually distract the viewer who is trying to learn what you are teaching.

After you have exactly outlined your video, make a list of the minimum equipment necessary to execute it. Since you are in the sound business, you will know what mics to use. I would recommend that you record each mic on a separate camera audio channel (cameras have 2 separate audio channels sometimes labeled left and right stereo) and mix them later.