Help! An editor’s worst nightmare…

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Help! An editor’s worst nightmare…

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

So I’m a freelance editor trying to start my own business and have been handed an awesome job that should get the ball rolling for me– a video to play on a projector in the main lobby of a major museum.

However, there are many issues with this project that I’ve never dealt with:

> I was asked to use footage that needed to be ripped from DVDs. To do this, I used Mac The Ripper and then transferred the files to DV with MPEG Streamclip. (First problem with image degradation)

>The projector that this will be screened on is 16:9, and I’ve been asked to make the image conform. Of course, all of my ripped media is 4:3. I’ve been experimenting with different custom sequence settings in FCP and different croppings in Compressor, but have no idea what will yield the best resolution. I’m not a genious when it comes to codecs and compression, and this is my first time dealing with widescreen. My first crop resulted in a .MOV file that was 720×356 and had visible linear glitching. (The blow up is my 2nd problem with image degradation)

>And the last irritation: the program that will be running the media to the projector is a PC-run application called MX5 which appears to ONLY play .WMV and .MPEG files… another nightmare for degrading my image.

As you can see, there is little hope for making this project look good on projection. If anyone has ANY advice on how to convert my edit to a decent-resolution MPEG that’s cropped for 16:9, I will be forever in your debt! OR, is it at all possible to cross the Mac/PC divide and make my FCP-produced project a .WMV file?

Thanks for any help!

Inactive

WOW!

Nighmare in an understatement!