HDR-SR5 Help

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello!

I recieved a HDR-SR5 for christmas of last year. I recently bought a shout-gun mic for it but i ran into a problem. The audio that is captured picks up the camera noises and other outside sounds and does not do well with loud noises (I.e. Daft Punk concert.) I realized that i needed a mic that was either mic in or XLR but i still want to keep the camera. Does anyone know how i can get a mic with either a mic in or XLR to a Sony hotshoe?

Any help is encouraged

Inactive

shock mount the mic and see if you can control the audio levels.

John

Inactive

Pardon me, but what does “shock mount” mean? Im a little new with film speak jargon

Inactive

A shock mount is a contraption that will isolate the barrel of the microphone from any vibrations that can be picked up. Here is a link to show you what a typical shock mount looks like. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/398316-REG/Rode_SM3_SM3_On_Camera_Shockmount.html

If you want to test this before you plunk down cash, take an emptytoilet paper roll and stretch 2 rubber bands on each end to simulate the device in the link. Place your shotgun in the middle of the rubber bands. You can actually just hold the test shock mount while you record with your shotgun. I think you’ll find that Johnboy is right on with this one.

Good luck,

Trey

Inactive

Also, you may want to try a wind screen or even one of these in conjuction with the shock mount to eliminate wind noise.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/392861-REG/Rode_DEAD_CAT_Dead_Cat_Wind_Muff.html

Inactive