HD consumer vs Standard Prosumer Camera

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

To video tape weddings and other events.

Would it be better to get an HD consumer camcorder (JVC GZ-HD6) or a prosumer (Canon GL2)?

Despite the difference in media and the limitations of hard drive recording. Which would be better to produce a professional picture in the end product?

Participant

My hdr-hc1 shoots better standard def than the gl2.

shooting hd, then downconverting to sd for dvd seems to be as good a dvd as anything I’ve ever bought or rented.

Participant

I agree, shooting HD and then down converting makes for very nice SD. Why not get a prosumer HDV camera though? They aren’t that much more expensive. Sony has a lot of options.

Participant

I am a newbie, but aren’t Sony DVCs not compatible with Final Cut Pro? I am in the same boat as far as being in the market for a DVC and I don’t have a huge amount to spend in my budget.

Participant

I am a newbie, but aren’t Sony DVCs not compatible with Final Cut Pro? I am in the same boat as far as being in the market for a DVC and I don’t have a huge amount to spend in my budget.

You may be thinking about the AVCHD files from HD HDD cameras (like the SR11). I don’t know of any camera that is incompatible with any of the major NLE’s (except maybe the Red One).

If you are speaking of AVCHD (MTS files), there are a couple of solutions to handle that (one from VASST springs to mind – Upshift, which converts AVCHD to MPEG2).

Participant

some avchd cams don’t play well with macs. apple has a list of compatibles on its website somewhere.

the sony hdr sr12 does work well.

Participant

Does Sony make AVCHD cameras? I thought that was a Panasonic format. I could be wrong though. All I’ve ever noticed were HDV, XDCam, from Sony consumer/prosumer HD.

“I am a newbie, but aren’t Sony DVCs not compatible with Final Cut Pro?”